The days of comfort then dissatisfaction and wanting more in life

If the twenties are supposed to be our prime, then let’s set it off in glazing glory

Kahhow
4 min readAug 5, 2021
Photo of my apartment in 240E 23 St NY10010

Back in 2016, I remember telling Chloe, a fellow teacher-to-be who crashed at 240E 23 Street that I was pretty bored with my current state of life. With my head on the headrest and just sinking into my chair, I found that there was not much of a challenge in life. I have spent two years in New York. Apart from “travelling”, I have been mainly doing the same old thing — debate, dancing (bboying) and some studying.

I tried to appeal to spend a year teaching English in Colombia before returning home. That unsurprisingly was not approved.

So I asked myself:

What I if I never had a secure job and needed to figure my way out, just like all my peers? How would I fare under that pressure? Would that make me a better person or teacher when I finally returned? What kind of person will I grow to become?

That thought experiment triggered a fairly horrifying realization that even though I fared decently in my coursework (at that point I barely…

--

--

Kahhow

Educator interested in data science, dance and full stack development